Why License Your Dog?
It's the law. California Health and Safety Code (121690) requires dogs to be vaccinated against rabies and to obtain a license:
- Within 30 days after reaching the age of 4 months, or
- Within 30 days of acquiring the dog, or
- Within 30 days after entering the jurisdiction.
Visible Tags: A dog's license tag must be securely fastened to the dog's collar or harness and worn by the dog at all times. Dog licensing is the best way to ensure your pet is identifiable, if found, and is also a visible means of ensuring that the animal has been vaccinated against rabies.
Rabies Requirements: A California-approved rabies vaccination of dog is a prerequisite for licensing, and highly effective as an animal and public health measure. Rabies vaccinations are especially important in areas like ours where the potential threat of exposure to rabies from wildlife is a significant concern.
The primary rabies vaccination is good for one year. The second vaccination is given one-year later. Subsequent (or booster) vaccinations are valid for three years.
Please note: Your veterinarian's business name and License Number or clinic name and phone number are required for verification purposes.
If your pet cannot get a rabies vaccination due to a medical condition, please complete this rabies exempt form with your veterinarian.
Licensing Fees and Payment Options
Dog License Fees
License fees are an investment in the health and safety of our pets. These small fees also assist San Diego Humane Society in providing care to stray and homeless animals and further our efforts to eliminate animal cruelty and neglect. If your city is not listed, please click here for information on where to purchase your dog license. More information about licensing in our Jurisdiction can be found here.
FEES BY CITY:
- Carlsbad, Del Mar, El Cajon, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, Poway, San Diego, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach
|Fee Type||Fee Title||A||B||C|
|Dog Licenses||Altered, one year license||$18.00||$15.00||$15.00|
|Dog Licenses||Altered, two year license||$33.00||N/A||N/A|
|Dog Licenses||Altered, three year license||$45.00||$40.00||$40.00|
|Dog Licenses||Unaltered, one year license||$36.00||$50.00||$50.00|
|Dog Licenses||Unaltered, two year license||$66.00||N/A||N/A|
|Dog Licenses||Unaltered, three year license||$90.00||$100.00||$150.00|
|Dog Licenses||Adopted Dogs: 1 time exempt||$0.00||$0.00||$0.00|
|Dog Licenses||Late fee||$20.00||$20.00||$20.00|
|Dog Licenses||Transfer fee||$10.00||$5.00||$5.00|
|Dog Licenses||Tag replacement||$10.00||$5.00||$5.00|
|Dog Licenses||Change of ownership||$10.00||$10.00||$10.00|
Dog license fees are non-refundable.
Late Fees: Failure to obtain a license, or to renew the license by the expiration date will result in a late fee.
Alteration (Spay/Neuter): Dog licenses for unaltered dogs are charged at a higher rate. For a list of low-cost spay or neuter services in San Diego please visit sdhumane.org/alterations.
Licensing Payment Options
License your dog online at pethub.com/SanDiego.
About Pethub Online Pet Licensing
Residents of Carlsbad, Del Mar, El Cajon, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Diego, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach and Vista can purchase a dog license online at PetHub.com.
San Diego Humane Society is working with PetHub.com to help pet owners purchase pet licenses online. The pet tag you will receive also has additional features – like your pet’s identification in case they escape -- that can be activated on PetHub.com.
License your dog in person at one of these three locations:
San Diego Campus: 5480 Gaines St., San Diego, CA 92110
El Cajon Campus: 1373 N. Marshall Ave. El Cajon, CA 92020
Escondido Campus: 3500 Burnet Drive, Escondido, CA 92027
Oceanside Campus: 2905 San Luis Rey Road, Oceanside, CA 92058
Licensing Service Dogs
Service dogs must maintain a current rabies vaccine and license, but the owner is usually exempt from paying for the license.
For more information about service dogs, click here.
For those residing within the city limits of La Mesa licenses can be obtained at La Mesa City Hall. For those residing within San Diego County, but outside of our jurisdiction, please contact County of San Diego Department of Animal Services. Licensing Jurisdictions.
|To offer pet owners peace of mind — and some benefits — as they invest in the health and safety of their pets, we provide the following incentives:|
|Found pets with current licenses can be quickly reunited with their owner or rushed to an appropriate veterinarian if severely injured.|
Free Ride Home
|The first time a licensed pet is picked up or brought to San Diego Humane Society, it will receive a free ride home or free pass to go home, reducing its stay or even skipping a trip to San Diego Humane Society altogether.|
Vacation Pet Alert
|Before you leave for vacation, call 619-299-7012 to register your pet for the Vacation Pet Alert service. Provide us with the contact information of who will be caring for your pet and who is allowed to act on your behalf while you're away. This will also put the Extended Stay service into effect.|
|When found, your licensed pet will be cared for by San Diego Humane Society for up to seven days before being put up for adoption.|
Why does my dog need to be licensed?
- It is the law. San Diego County (62.610 and 62.620) and California Health and Safety Code (121690) and the cities of Oceanside (4.17), Vista (6.07.010) and Imperial Beach (6.04.110) require all dogs to be vaccinated against rabies and to obtain a license within 30 days (a) of all dogs reaching four months of age; (b) of acquiring a dog, or (c) after moving to Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Marcos or Vista. Failure to do so within this time will result in a late fee and/or a citation. If your dog ends up at our campus and is licensed, your fees will be less. If an unlicensed and unaltered dog (running at large) is brought to a San Diego Humane campus, the fines to retrieve the dog start at $150 per day. The fines are set by the California Food & Agriculture Code (30804.7) and local ordinances.
- Licensed dogs have a higher chance of being reunited with their owners if they get lost. Humane Law Enforcement officers will try to return the dogs directly to their home if the dog is wearing an up-to-date tag.
- Important health information about your dog can be placed in our licensing records so that if they get lost and end up in our care, we have a medical history for them. Purchasing your dog a license helps save the lives of animals by providing funding for pets in need that come to San Diego Humane Society.
- A current license is proof your dog is vaccinated against rabies.
I lost my dog license tag. How can I get a replacement tag?
Replacement tags are $5 for Oceanside and Vista and will expire at the same time as the previous tag. Replacement tags are $10 for Carlsbad, Del Mar, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Diego, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach and will expire at the same time as the previous tag. They are available at our Escondido, Oceanside and San Diego Campuses and also can be ordered by phone or mail.
Does it matter where I get my dog’s rabies vaccination?
- No, but In order to get a license, your dog must receive a California-approved rabies vaccination, listed here.
Why didn't I receive new tags when I renewed my dog's license?
We only send license tags when it is a new license. When you renew your license, you keep the same license tag number; we renew the license tag number in our computer system and mail you the receipt.
Why does my license expire when the rabies vaccine expires?
Health and Safety code 121690g states that a license cannot exceed the rabies vaccination due date. It also serves as a reminder to update the rabies vaccination.
Why is the altered dog license so much cheaper than the unaltered dog license?
- As an incentive to have your dog spayed or neutered.
- California Food & Agriculture Code (30804.5) states that license fees are to be one-half or less than the regular fee if they are altered.
Why was my check returned?
If your check was returned, there should have been a small form explaining why it was returned (i.e. incorrect payment, need a rabies shot, etc.). Please make the needed changes and return by the appointed date to avoid any late fees. If you have any questions, please call 619-299-7012. Owners can also scan their rabies certificate or take a photo with their phones and send it to firstname.lastname@example.org. If you do this be sure to leave a call-back number so we can call you and collect payment over the phone.
Where can I get a rabies vaccination for my dog?
San Diego Humane Society hosts vaccination clinics at all of our campuses. Click here for schedule information. You can also get your pet vaccinated at your family vet hospital or clinic. You can also get your pet vaccinated at your family vet hospital, clinic or one of these low-cost locations.
Where can I get a license if my dog already has their rabies vaccination?
After the dog receives his/her rabies vaccine, Carlsbad, Del Mar, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Diego, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach and Vista residents can print a dog license application and mail it to our San Diego Campus (5500 Gaines St., San Diego, CA 92110) or come in person to our Escondido Campus (3500 Burnet Drive, 92027), Oceanside Campus (2905 San Luis Rey Road, 92058) or San Diego Campus (5480 Gaines St., San Diego, CA 92110) during normal business hours.
Where does the money for the licenses go?
All the money goes toward funding San Diego Humane Society in our mission to promote the humane treatment of animals, to prevent cruelty to animals, and provide education to enhance the human-animal bond.
What do I do if the information for my dog is wrong on the renewal form?
Mail in the renewal form with the correct information and make sure to include the dog's license tag number.
How do I change my address?
Call 619-299-7012 or email email@example.com. If you leave a message, make sure to include your pet’s license number, owner’s name and address.
Does my dog need to wear his/her tags?
Yes. Food and Agriculture code (30951) states that the dog needs to have a) a metal tag with name and address of owner; OR b) metal license tag issued by licensing authority.
Does my cat need to be licensed?
A license is not required for cats in Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Marcos and Vista. However, we recommend microchip identification and keeping cats indoors, in addition to a collar and name tag.
My dog does not have a current rabies vaccination - why can't I get a license?
California Code of Regulations (2606.4c) states all dogs are required to have a current rabies vaccination in order to obtain a dog license.
My dog has a medical condition that prevents him from getting a vaccination. What do I do about a license?
We would need a signed letter from your veterinarian explaining why your dog can not receive a rabies vaccination and for how long.
My dog never leaves the house; do I need a license?
Yes, a dog can still get out of the yard and a license will make it easier to return your dog.
It is the law. San Diego County (62.610 and 62.620) and California Health and Safety Code (121690) and the cities of Oceanside (4.17), Vista (6.07.010) and Imperial Beach (6.04.110) require all dogs to be vaccinated against rabies and to obtain a license within 30 days (a) of all dogs reaching four months of age; (b) of acquiring a dog, or (c) after moving to Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Marcos or Vista. Failure to do so within this time will result in a late fee and/or a citation. If your dog ends up at our campus and is licensed, your fees will be less. If an unlicensed and unaltered dog (running at large) is brought to a San Diego Humane campus, the fines to retrieve the dog start at $150 per day. The fines are set by the California Food & Agriculture Code (30804.7) and local ordinances.
I have a rabies tag or microchip - do I still need a license?
Yes, your city ordinance states that "it shall be unlawful to own or harbor any dog within the city, except as herein provided, without first having obtained a license..." A rabies tag only provides proof of rabies vaccine and does not qualify as a dog license; a microchip only provides proof of ownership.
I no longer own the dog / my dog passed away / I moved out of Carlsbad, Del Mar, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Diego, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach and Vista.
Please mark the appropriate box and return the renewal notice or contact us at 619-299-7012 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
I did not pay my license by the renewal date - is there a late fee?
Yes, there is a $20 late fee per Oceanside (4.18), Vista (6.07.020), Carlsbad, Del Mar, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Diego, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach and Vista.
I have recently renewed my dog's license and now I have a delinquency notice. Why did this happen?
There is a three-week turnaround time on renewals so they might have crossed in the mail. If you notice a problem with your renewal form, please contact us at 619-299-7012 or email email@example.com so we can make sure that you will not receive another notice.
I just received an Administrative Citation, what do I do?
- The dog owner must purchase a dog license at the San Diego Humane Society Escondido, Oceanside or San Diego Campus. We recommend visiting one of our campus locations in person to process the Administrative Citation. Proof of a current rabies vaccine is required and can be obtained from any state-licensed veterinarian.
- Late fees need to be paid when purchasing a license.
- If you no longer own the dog, no longer live in the jurisdiction, etc. please contact the San Diego Humane Society immediately at 619-299-7012 so we can make the proper changes.
- Follow the directions on the back of the Administrative Citation to ensure compliance and avoid any additional penalties.
- It is your responsibility to pay the Administrative Citation within 30 days of issuance, including weekends and holidays.
What do I need to do to license my assistance/service dog?
Complete the assistance/service dog application and mail or fax it back to the address at the top of the application. Be sure to include a copy of your personal photo ID and your dog's current rabies vaccine and ONE of the following:
- A copy of your Dr.'s note or prescription OR
- A copy of their handicapped placard OR
- A copy of their SSDI award letter
All licensing fees are waived (by law) for service dog licensing.
How do I renew my assistance/service dog's license?
To renew your dog's municipal license, mail a copy of the dog's rabies booster to San Diego Humane Society Licensing Department at 5480 Gaines St., San Diego, CA 92110. We will update the license through to the rabies expiration date. Service tags (the large gold ones) are lifetime tags and do not need renewal.
Does my assistance/service dog need a dog license?
Yes. All assistance/service dog's municipal licenses must be kept up to date like a normal license.